Events & Sponsorships

Crystal Apple Teachers of Distinction Announced

posted on November 12, 2020

The 18th annual Crystal Apple Awards program kicked off, completely virtual, the beginning of October. Educators in 10 school districts were presented with a token of appreciation sponsored by Marshfield Clinic Health System. Through a video message, students, parents, colleagues and community members, were encouraged to nominate a favorite teacher. The Marshfield Area Chamber of Commerce & Industry received a record number of nominations, 1,313 for 347 different teachers. All those nominated were acknowledged in the Hub City Times, thanking them for their commitment to Excellence in Education.

MACCI directors Debbie Bauer and Karen Isaacson congratulate MACCI’s 2020 Crystal Apple Teachers of Distinction winners

The next step in this process was a peer to peer voting by electronic ballot at each school.  Qualifying nominees’ names were placed on an online ballot and teachers at each respective school voted on their top candidate from their school.

The top voter getters identified our 25 “Teachers of Distinction” and those recipients were surprised by their principal who visited their classroom to make the announcement.

We are pleased to announce our 2021 Teachers of Distinction are:  Brooke AltmanNasonville Elementary, Alyssa AndersonPittsville High School, Kristie BangartSt. Joseph’s Stratford, Mark BrostAuburndale Elementary, Jessica Colloton, St. John’s Primary/OLP, Michele DeCandiaMarshfield Middle, Ruth FleischmannColumbus MS/HS, Amber GuldanAuburndale MS/HS, Brad HelstenGreenwood MS/HS, Brittney KingGrant Elementary, Amber KropidlowskiGrant Elementary, Kathleen MahoneyMarshfield High, Lindsay MeyerImmanuel Lutheran, Jodi MoorePittsville Elementary/MS, Ann PankratzSpencer Elementary, Kristine SchwalbachLincoln Elementary, Randi StanleyNeillsville MS/HS, DeAnn SteinwagnerWashington Elementary, Taylor VarshoMarshfield High, Jena WalshMadison Elementary, Daisy WernerNeillsville Elementary, Ryan WestabyGranton School District, Danielle WilkeMarshfield Middle, and Jennifer WilkeSpencer MS/HS.

These 25 Teachers of Distinction will continue in the process by presenting their teaching philosophy to a selection team of community members the end of February. If necessary, those presentations will be done virtually.  From those 25 individuals, four Crystal Apple winners will be selected. The announcement of the four Crystal Apple winners will be made on Tuesday, March 2, at each school. 

All 25 Teachers of Distinction will be honored at a banquet on Wednesday, May 5 at Hotel Marshfield.

Congratulations to all our educators!